Expect the Unexpected

All the news that's fit to print, debate, and chew on

Hiatus


HowToGetBackOnTrackI went on a hiatus from blogging these past few weeks.

I wish I could say it was because of something wonderful.

I wish I could say it was because I won the lottery and I was too busy eating croissants in Paris to write.

I wish I could say it was because I got a great new job and I was having too much fun doing a happy dance.

I wish I could say the reason for the hiatus was anything other than what it was.

The truth is I had a major Multiple Sclerosis flare up that literally and figuratively brought me to my knees. Numbness from the tips of my toes that spread up to my chest.  I thought it was the big one. I wasn’t trying to impersonate Fred Sanford, but I kept repeating to my husband, “This is it, it’s finally got its hooks in me, I’m going to die.”

But after intensive IV steroid treatment, rest and recovery, I’m happy to report that I’m back. Not 100% healed, but good enough.

I have some lingering issues. We’ll see how many brain lesions I’ve developed after the three hour MRI brain scan I’m having this weekend.

But I can walk, I can talk, I can type, and I can live. And I’m doing all of them.

So, it’s back to blogging, and I have a lot to talk about.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Hiatus

  1. So sorry to hear about your condition, Patty. Please hang in there, in the knowledge that a lot of people care and are going to be thinking about you.

    A three-hour brain MRI? Sorry for that too; none of the MRIs my wife had for her brain tumor ever lasted more than a half an hour or so, but it was never fun for her to be stuck in that tube. 😦

    • Thanks for the kind thoughts Ed. These past few weeks have been a doozy. I took a sedative before the MRI so it was actually quite tolerable. Plus, the attendant put a cloth over my eyes which helped me keep them closed. When I think of everything that others have gone through, I can’t and really shouldn’t complain. MS is a very complicated disease. No known cause or cure. When health issues strike us suddenly, we don’t know how to react. Thankfully, people like you Ed, are there to give someone in need, support, encouragement, and most important of all, love.

      • Glad to hear they made the MRI bearable for you, Patty. During most of my wife’s imagings, she was given earphones to listen to music, and her choice was always sappy love songs from the ’70s and ’80s by the likes of Air Supply, her favorite group. That’d be a nightmare scenario for me, being stuck in the tube like that with no escape from “All Out of Love” and similar fluff and doggerel. I’m sure the Geneva Convention has outlawed it.

        Seriously, very sorry to hear that MS afflicted you. Just like my wife’s brain cancer, nobody could say what brought it on and ultimately there was no stopping it, only holding it at bay for a while. And yes, perhaps the most frightening aspect was the suddenness with which it manifested itself. My wife just had a severe seizure out of the blue which led to the discovery of the tumor, and before that she had had no discernable symptoms at all. 😦

Leave a Reply

the craptacular

Broadway and everything you never needed to know about it

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

OmNomCT

An omnivorous couple's perspective on all things om-nomable in Fairfield County, CT.

The Little Bean

where the coffee shop ends & the cooking begins

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

Exploring the Strange New World of Online Publishing and Celebrating Those Who Live There

Moms in Weston, CT

Laugh. Learn. Live. You're not alone in this town.

Expect the Unexpected

All the news that's fit to print, debate, and chew on

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.