Expect the Unexpected

All the news that's fit to print, debate, and chew on

Carol Channing petition is now headed to Kennedy Center


CarolDollyThank you! A petition on change.org that I’ve been talking about for the past week has now received more than a thousand signatures so it will be forwarded to the Kennedy Center for consideration.

The petition supports Carol Channing for a Kennedy Center honor for her lifetime achievement in the performing arts. Carol has been entertaining audiences since the 1940s. Her most iconic roles were Lorelei Lee in Gentlemen Prefer Blondes and Dolly Levi in Hello, Dolly! She also created a foundation with her husband Harry supporting arts education programs in public schools.

For a kid like me she meant so much. I would listen to my mom’s Hello, Dolly! album over and over and over. My favorite song was So, Long Dearie. I used to pretend I was singing it to all the mean bullies out there.

Here is a clip below of Carol singing the song, not sure where. But she brings her own inimitable style to it, and that’s what I love about her, her rugged individualism as George Costanza would say. Now it’s up to the Kennedy Center. We’ll find out their decision in September. Fingers crossed for Carol.

So Long Dearie

Well, Horace, it looks as if there’s nothing more for me to say, but–
Goodbye, Goodbye, Goodbye.
Goodbye, Goodbye, Goodbye.
Don’t try to stop me Horace please…
Wave your little hand and whisper
So long dearie
You ain’t gonna see me anymore
But when you discover that your life is dreary
Don’t you come a knockin’ at my door
For I’ll be all dolled up
And singin’ that song
That says you dog, I told you so
So wave your little hand and whisper
So long dearie
Dearie, should have said so long
So long ago

Because you’ve treated me so rotten and rough
I’ve had enough of feelin’ low
So wave your little hand and whisper
So long dearie
Dearie would have said so long
So long ago

For I can hear that choo choo callin’ me on
To a fancy new address
Yes, I can hear that choo choo callin’ me on
On board that happiness express
I’m gonna learn to dance and drink and smoke a cigarette
I’m go’n as far away from Yonkers as a girl can get

And on those cold winter nights, Horace…
You can snuggle up to your cash register.
It’s a bit lumpy but it rings!

Don’t come a knockin’
I’ll be all dolled up
And singin’ that song
That says you dog, I told you so
So Horace, you will find your life a sad old story
When you see your Dolly shuffle off to glory
Oh I should have said so long…
So Long ago!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

the craptacular

Broadway and everything you never needed to know about it

alifemoment

Colourful Good Food & Positive Lifestyle

OmNomCT

An omnivorous couple's perspective on all things om-nomable in Fairfield County, CT.

The Little Bean

where the coffee shop ends & the cooking begins

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

Exploring the Strange New World of Online Publishing and Celebrating Those Who Live There

Moms in Weston, CT

Laugh. Learn. Live. You're not alone in this town.

Expect the Unexpected

All the news that's fit to print, debate, and chew on

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.